Nepal Earthquake 2015

Nepal Earthquake 2015 occurred on 25 April 2015 at 11:56 NST with magnitude of 7.8Mw killed more than 8,000 people and injured more than 20,000. Earthquake also known as gorkha earthquake epicenter was the village of Gorkha district called Barpak. It was the worst natural disaster to strike Nepal since the 1934 Nepal–Bihar earthquake.

Date: 25 April 2015
Origin time: 11:56:26 NST
Magnitude: 7.8Mw or 8.1 Ms
Depth: 15.0 km (9.3 mi)
Epicenter: Barpak, Gorkha

Continued aftershocks occurred throughout Nepal within 15–20 minute intervals.
No. of aftershocks = 158 (As of 14 May 2015)

Major aftershocks are:

First major Aftershock was occurred on 26 April 2015.
Date: 26 April 2015
Origin time: 12:54:08 NST
Magnitude: 6.7 Mw
Epicenter: Sindhupalchok

Second major after shock centered at Chinese border between the capital of Kathmandu and Mt. Everest.
Date: 12 May 2015
Origin time: 12:35 NST
Magnitude:  7.3 Mw
Epicenter: near the Chinese border between the capital of Kathmandu and Mt. Everest

Hundreds of thousands of people were made homeless with entire villages flattened across many districts of the country. Centuries-old buildings were destroyed at UNESCO World Heritage sites in the Kathmandu Valley, including some at the Kathmandu Durbar Square, the Patan Durbar Square and the Bhaktapur Durbar Square.
As of 15 May, 8,316 people had been killed and more than 17,866 injured. Reports indicate that 15,001 governmental buildings and 288,797 public (residential) buildings have been completely destroyed following the initial quake. 39 of Nepal’s 75 districts have been affected.

The government has designated 14 most affected districts, namely:
Gorkha, Kavrepalanchok, Dhading, Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Sindupalchok, Dolakha, Ramechhap, Okhaldunga, Makwanpur, Sindhuli, Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Lalitpur.

Additional nine affected districts were added by the government on May 10, namely:
Tanahu, Kaski, Nawalparasi, Chitwan, Syangja, Parsa, Lamjung, Palpa and Parbat.

Post a Comment